One Year Down at InOnIt

I really don’t know how to start. The reason I’m writing this is because I’ve completed one year as a full-fledged employee! One year! It’s crazy where I’ve actually landed. No! No! I ain’t complaining ‘coz what I’ve gathered is way beyond my expectations.

I kick-started my career with a Mumbai based lifestyle website called InOnIt.in on June 13, 2011. In the beginning it was just creating content, getting in touch with new stores, restaurants, spas and salons, or gathering information on the latest happening in Mumbai. The point is that I always wished to be a reporter. A hard news reporter. I wanted to handle either crime or politics. But alas! No newspaper was willing to hire graduates. I’d almost made it through at The Indian Express (my favourite newspaper) as a trainee reporter, but the position was filled by a post graduate from the Asian School of Journalism. Quite depressed, I took up what came first to me. And it was InOnIt.

The first three months were good. I had a very good friend working along with me. InOnIt was still a baby then. Not many people knew about the website. The next three months, I took hold of the Shop and Services categories, and not forgetting, food reviews. Interesting! But what came next was even more interesting, and that’s what I’m enjoying right now. After six months i.e. in December 2011, sister website/ e-store/ online shop – Shop InOnIt was born. We were all excited, and by January 2012, I moved from InOnIt to Shop InOnIt to manage the e-store. At this point I realised writing was not my cup of tea.

Three months. For exactly another three months, I mainly managed customer service. It was a routine job. Interacted with many customers, replied to emails, simultaneously got in touch with new labels and then once gain it was time to climb the ladder. So, after my position was filled, I moved on to manage products on Shop InOnIt. This is precisely what I do now. Sadly, nowhere do I showcase my qualities of a reporter. But, there is yet another development. Now I get a chance to interact with designers. With the launch of an in-built blog, I will be interviewing a whole load of designers. I like talking to people, and the Asian Age features team, where I complete a six months internship, will not deny.

It’s amazing how I kept moving on every three months to complete a year with InOnIt Internet Solutions Pvt. Ltd. What’s even more amazing is to be blessed with bosses like Meghna Mittal and Namrata Kothari. Very young and gorgeous ladies! I draw most of my inspiration from these two. They’re extreme. Meghna is more of a monotone fan, and Namrata is just the opposite. I like them either way! If I give it a thought, I wonder what the hell am I doing in retail, when I’d actually wanted to set out reporting? But I’m quite over it. I continue keeping that as a personal interest. If there’s something interesting I come across, I immediately put it up on Twitter. Reporting, you see! 🙂

Categories: Open Letters | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “One Year Down at InOnIt

  1. Alisha Furtado

    great….keep it up.wishing u all the best, 4 the years ahead.

  2. Hey Alisha,

    Thank you 🙂

    Cheers!

What do you have to say about the article?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

