Tansa Forest: Off the beaten path

We were on our way back to the city when one of my colleagues asked me about the forest trail. I gently closed my book and gave him a clueless smile. All of a sudden, words betrayed me and all I could think of was — average. ‘The trip was just average. Nothing extraordinary,’ I replied. For a moment, I looked out of the moving bus and then gave an honest feedback. Before I share the same with you, I ought to run you through where I was last Sunday.

I, along with all my colleagues, looked forward to a trek to the Tansa forest last Sunday. After a little bit of research, I educated myself about the Tansa River that’s one of Mumbai’s water sources, popularly known as the Tansa Lake. So now I was aware that we were going through Tansa forest to see the Tansa lake and probably the dam too. But alas! everything, and I mean it, everything turned out to be disappointing.

On this particular Sunday, the sun refused to hide behind the clouds and the clouds refused to send down some rain. We set out on out journey at 7am  and reached the spot by 11am. The bus journey, both ways, saved our day! This trip was organised by a group called Jumpstart. Since I’d heard much about the group, I didn’t mind giving it a shot. On our way, we were served breakfast that was prepared by another group called Hungry Monsters. A coleslaw sandwich and some sprouts for breakfast. I wasn’t a fan of either.

As soon as we reached the forest, we introduced ourselves to other groups members, slid lunch packets in our bags and started following the trail. At first, a friend said, ‘this looks like my backyard in Chandigarh.’ Mind you, a couple other friends echoed the same statement. There was nothing new to see. The forest looked ordinary. We were told that there was a lot that could be seen and heard. Even the birds decided to take a nap, I guess as we strolled through the forest. We saw some unusual trees, but couldn’t figure out what they’re called. At this trip, I was expecting much more. I wanted the organizer to tell me more about Tansa — forest, birds, wild animals that are seen around, the lake, dam and everything I could grasp. After an hour of wandering about in the forest we reached a slim river. We decided to sit on the rocks while the sun kept getting hotter. After this, we continued the trail until we reached the lake. Within almost three hours, we were back to where we started. That’s it? It’s over? We’re heading back home?

Yes, we sat by the lake for some-45 minutes and then got into the bus, one-by-one. Oh, did I forget to mention about our lunch? Well, we were served pasta that lacked taste. We were also given ‘hotdogs’ that were stuffed with soggy patato patties. From the food to the trip, Sunday was a complete disappointment. I wouldn’t want to be harsh, but I really thought I’d wasted an entire day. I could have rather spent that time reading up more about Tansa and seeing pictures on the web.

P.S. I usually take a lot of photographs when I’m out on adventure trips, but at Tansa, I captured only 13 pictures. Here are a few.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

 

Categories: Travelogue | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

What do you have to say about the article?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

